The Disney Relationship: Origins

22 Nov

The Introduction

Firstly, I’m going to paraphrase a story I read in the Steve Jobs biography the other day. Don’t worry, I’m not about to bore you with a whole post on my delight over the death of Mobile Flash Player or anything like that, (although that was a joyous occasion), I just want you to read this short story and consciously consider your first reaction as you read through it.

The Story

“Steve Job’s father (adoptive) was in the Navy in WW2. After the war ended he made a bet with his buddies he could find a wife in two weeks. By the end of that two-week period he had not only met but married Steve’s mom and together they settled down and began a life. In fact they were still together over 40 years later when Steve’s father died.”

The Questions

I’m going to try to do some guesswork and I’m not going to push it as exceptionally insightful, just my best shot. But you probably are thinking how it’s weird that someone could choose to get married based on a seemingly arbitrary decision. And how could they have even considered getting married after only having known the other person for two weeks? I mean it’s crazy right? And yeah it is a little I suppose, but what I’m trying to get at is this, when it comes to happiness in a marriage, what do we believe about why we will be happy? Will it be there because I feel this overwhelming love for this person? Is it going to be there because the person I marry is going to be that perfect person, “the one?” The above story I bet is not the “ideal” situation which you would want to meet your future spouse, me either, at least not in all respects. But I wanted to use this story to get us to begin to examine and bring to light deep-rooted ideals that we hold, whether consciously or otherwise, about marriage and love. We have a highly ingrained picture of love, but is it the correct picture? Is the picture we hold up when thinking about getting married and why we will be happy the right picture? Will we experience authentic happiness with our spouse? How can it be that two people who got married on the pretext of a bet be happy together? Of course these kinds of questions will eventually lead to more questions like, what should be our model for love? Does our ingrained ideas about romance and happiness jive with the type of love and forgiveness we find in Christ, or even should it?

The Abrupt and Open Ended Conclusion

Anyways I’m not actually going to answer any of these questions in this post, that would take longer than I am capable of concentrating and I really just wanted to get the brain juices flowing. I want plenty of time for us to really examine what we believe about happiness, love, marriage, and relationships. But I don’t just want to look at what we belive but where did we get these ideas from? What is the origin of our beliefs on love? Ultimately I hope that in the midst of this question hurricane that answers we reach to the smaller questions will point us towards a conclusion about the overarching question; what do we believe about why we will be happy in marriage? Anyways be thinking, and hopefully by next time the title should make a little more sense, but that’s all for now.

 

“So this is love,

So this is what makes life divine”

-Cinderella

Leave a Reply

